By Jupiter the Musical Songs Lyrics

By Jupiter is a musical with a book by Lorenz Hart and Richard Rodgers, music by Rodgers, and lyrics by Hart. The musical is based on the play The Warrior's Husband by Julian F. Thompson, set in the land of the Amazons. By Jupiter premiered on Broadway in 1942 and starred Ray Bolger.


In the land of the Amazons the women rule and do battle while the men stay at home, mind the children, and buy new hats. An army of Greek soldiers, led by Theseus and Hercules, arrives in search of the Sacred Girdle of Diana, currently in the hands of reigning Queen Hippolyta. Accompanying them is war correspondent Homer, author of a recent bestseller called The Iliad. The Greek warriors are captured by the Amazons, and romance blossoms between Theseus and Antiope, the warrior-leader of the Amazons. A subplot involves Hippolyta's foppish husband Sapiens, forced on her by his wealthy mother, in exchange for financing the war against the Greeks, who employs his "non-traditionally-male wiles" to get his way with the opposite sex.

1942 Broadway
By Jupiter the Musical Songs with Lyrics

Act I

1. For Jupiter and Greece
2. The Amazons
3. Jupiter Forbid
4. Life with Father
5. Nobody's Heart Belongs to Me
6. The Gateway of the Temple of Minerva
7. Life with Father (reprise)
8. Here's a Hand
9. No, Mother, No

Act II

1. The Boy I Left Behind Me
2. Nobody's Heart Belongs to Me (reprise)
3. Ev'rything I've Got
4. Bottoms Up
5. Careless Rhapsody
6. Finaletto
7. Ev'rything I've Got (reprise)
8. Wait Till You See Her
9. Now That I've Got My Strength
10. Finale

Title Filter     Display # 
# Article Title
1 By Jupiter - Jupiter Forbid Lyrics
2 By Jupiter - Nobody's Heart Belongs to Me Lyrics
3 By Jupiter - Everything I've Got Lyrics
4 By Jupiter - Wait Till You See Her Lyrics